Books Like Harry Potter for your Whole Family

Looking for other magical tales like Harry Potter to read to your children? This list provides outstanding fantasy book recommendations for all ages.

girl reading to her younger brother in bed

Reading Harry Potter for the first time is a magical experience, made even better when you read the series as a family. But what should you read once your journey to Hogwarts has come to an end? 

Check out our list of book suggestions for all ages that are full of magic, adventure, and friendship. Happy reading!

The Magic of Harry Potter 🪄

The tales of young Harry Potter’s hardships as he and his friends rallied against evil and hatred inspired an entire generation. Now, the “Harry Potter generation” has grown up and are having their own kids.

Of course, Harry Potter is a natural choice for these Potterheads to share with their children. The illustrated editions of the books are excellent for storytime, and elementary-age children can embark upon their own literary journey as they read Sorcerer’s Stone. (Check out our Harry Potter Reading Guide for more guidance on when kids should read the series on their own).

Reading to your Children 📚

As most parents know, reading to your children has been proven to be incredibly beneficial for their language development, comprehension, vocabulary, and social skills. But reading to your kids doesn’t have to mean reading the same picture book for the 20th time as you struggle to stay awake and trick your kids into believing you didn’t just skip two pages to get it over with faster.

Reading to your children can be a lot of fun! Of course, one of the most important factors in making reading-time fun is choosing books that you are actually interested in reading to your kids. Pick books you would have loved to read as a kids- books with dragons and swordfights or aliens and astronauts. If you’re interested, they will be interested!

If you really don’t feel like doing different voices and turning the pages, consider turning on an audiobook. That way, you can relax and enjoy the story with your kids, or get some housework done while they enjoy a story.

Family Book Clubs

One way to engage your entire family with whatever book you are reading is to start a family book club! Pick a few different books that you think your kids would enjoy, and allow them to vote on the first one to read. Check out a few copies from the library, or listen to the audiobook together. 

Then, pick one day each week when you can have “book club meetings”. Get together and talk about the last few chapters you all read, ask questions, and have discussions about what you think will happen next. 

Make it even more fun by baking some snacks that are inspired by the books! For Harry Potter, you could start with some delicious Harry Potter chocolate frogs!

Recommendations for 6-8-Year-Olds 📗

These fun chapter books are a great way to introduce young readers to the exciting worlds awaiting them between the pages of the books on their shelves.

dragon masters series by tracey west

Dragon Masters Series by Tracey West

In a fantastical place of magical creatures, three children are taken from their humble homes and trained as dragon masters. They learn to connect with their dragons and work with their friends, learning the trust and communication they’ll need to fight against evil forces in the land. As of writing this, the individual books were cheaper than buying the sets. However, you should compare prices. Currently, there are 20 books in the series.

the last firehawk the ember stone

The Last Firehawk by Katrina Charman

A plucky young trio of woodland creatures are the last line of defense against the nefarious vulture who is spreading evil through the world. The young owl, squirrel, and Firehawk must retrieve a magical stone and use it to defeat the vulture in this first installment of the series. There are 10 books in the series. You can purchase a set of 7, but it’s not always cheaper.

the spiderwick chronicles

The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

Twin brothers Jared and Simon and their sister Mallory move into an old, run-down estate with their mother. Before long, they uncover a book in the attic that leads them to discover an invisible world of magic and faeries, where they’ll have to work together against ogres and goblins!

Recommendations for 9-11-Year-Olds 📕

These fantastic series were selected because they are full of magic and adventure, with enough intrigue to hold the attention of 9-11-year-olds. But many young adults and parents love these books too! Could one of these series be the perfect fit for your first family book club pick?

pennyroyal academy

Pennyroyal Academy Series by M.A. Larson

A girl stumbles upon a world on the brink of war, and she is drawn in and enrolled at the Pennyroyal Academy, where she is instructed in battle alongside princesses and knights as they prepare to take on witches and dragons. The girl can’t remember her name or where she is from, but as her grueling training goes on, things begin to click into place. There are 3 books in the series.

nevermoor the trials of morrigan crow

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Young Morrigan is a highly unlucky girl, born on a cursed day and destined to die before she turns 11. But before her fate claims her, a man appears who whisks her to safety: a magical land called Nevermoor. 3 books have been written in this series.

inkheart trilogy by cornelia funke

Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke

Meggie’s family are bookbinders by trade; a steady but unremarkable profession. Her opinion quickly changes when she discovers that she and her father have the ability to bring book characters to life if they read aloud. There are 3 books written for this series.

Recommendations for 12-14-Year-Olds 📘

For older children, it can be tough to pit books against video games when it comes to entertainment value on the surface. But these series are spellbinding and richly detailed enough to draw even the most reluctant readers in.

the alchemyst

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series by Michael Scott

You might recognize this alchemist’s name from Harry Potter- this series is based on the life of 700-year old Nicholas Flamel, and his search for twins Josh and Sophie, who are born into normal lives that quickly upend when they learn they are destined to save the realm of Earth from a terrible fate. There are 6 books in this series and you can purchase the complete set here.

the school for good and evil

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

As the title suggests, there are two schools: one for educating the “good” (think Glinda the Good Witch), and the other for “evil” pupils (think Wicked Witch of the West). But when two girls who seem clearly fated for each school someone end up swapped, it becomes apparent that the lines between good and evil are a bit more blurred than they thought. There are 6 books in this series. You can purchase a set of the first 3 here.

miss peregrine's home for peculiar children

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Spanning places, times, and realms both realistic and fantastical, 16-year old Jacob is sent on a journey following clues left by his grandfather, which eventually lead him to make friends with the inhabitants of a home for children with “special” abilities- and some terrifying enemies. With 6 books in the series, you can purchase a set with the first 3 here.

Recommendations for Late Teens-Adults 📙

Though you might be well past the age of wielding a flashlight under the covers so you could stay up reading past your bedtime, the appeal of losing yourself in a fantastic world of magic and adventure remains strong. For those of you still chasing that high of reading Harry Potter for the first time, these series are sure to draw you in and keep you turning pages long into the night.

a discovery of witches

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy) by Deborah Harkness 

A dark, academic tale of witchcraft and romance for the ages. Graduate student and descendent of witches Diana Bishop discovers a long-lost magical tome while studying at Oxford University’s library. Lines blur between Diana’s practical world of academia and her magical heritage- especially as a certain handsome vampire expresses an interest in the tome Diana has recovered. This is a 4 book series that is also an ongoing show on AMC.

the name of the wind

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind is a highly acclaimed fantasy novel that follows the life of the genius (if not a bit full of himself) Kvothe, as he lives a life of legend that ends unexpectedly. This is the first book of three in the Kingkiller Chronicles.

A darker shade of magic

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

This immersive series follows Kell, a smuggler and one of the last magicians with a rare and powerful gift, as he travels through four parallel Londons as he tries to avoid trouble, but it finds him- and pulls him into an adventure that will have him risking his life to save all of the worlds. This is the first novel in the three-book series.